The FIFA Ballon d’Or is no more: FIFA,France Football split ways

This post has already been read 7688 times!

The world player of the year award will from now on return to its original home after France Football’s agreement with FIFA finished, the French publication and world football’s governing body announced on Friday.
Cristiano Ronaldo might break into a cold sweat when he hears that the Ballon d’Or is no more. Cursed to only win three, he’ll forever be behind record-holder Lionel Messi, who’s years ahead on five. But let’s not panic.
It’s the FIFA Ballon d’Or that’s sleeping with the fishes.
New FIFA president Gianni Infantino doesn’t see the benefit of the association. Mundo Deportivo reported the news.
He wants to revive the FIFA World Player of the Year award, which means there will be two awards galas to look forward to at the turn of the year.
On top of, the politics of the award will change in the eyes of fans. If, Ronaldo won the FIFA World Player of the Year and Messi won the Ballon d’Or, it will be hard to know we awards have more credibility in the eyes of their particular fans.
The FIFA Ballon d’Or is an annual association football award given to the world’s best male player by the sport’s governing body, FIFA, and the French publication France Football since 2010.
It is awarded based on votes from international media representatives and national team coaches and captains, who select the player they deem to have performed the best in the previous calendar year.
A fusion between the former Ballon d’Or and the men’s FIFA World Player of the Year award, the FIFA Ballon d’Or is considered the most prestigious individual award in world football.
Before the two awards merged together in 2009, the Ballon d’Or was the slightly more alternate award. It rewarded players based on their previous 12 months rather than reputation or politics.
Not to say that the likes of Ronaldinho and Zidane didn’t deserve their awards! It’s just a little more exciting to see a player like Shevchenko or Nedved get their first than Zidane get his third.
The FIFA Ballon d’Or has been dominated by Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, as part of their ongoing rivalry.
Barcelona’s Messi won the inaugural Ballon d’Or, before reclaiming the title the following two years and again in 2015. Ronaldo, who plays for Real Madrid, won two successive awards in the intervening years.
It had been awarded by the French publication France Football since 1956. European sports journalists invited by France Football selected the recipients from among European or Europe-based players.

This post has already been read 7688 times!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

Great Lakes Voice (GLV) is an independent news network that aims to provide Africa's Great Lakes Region with a source of uncensored news.

Great Lakes Voice is owned and registered as The Voice, Ltd. and has an office at Press House (No. 37, KG 17 Avenue, Kigali).

Copyright © 2015 Great Lakes Voice

To Top