Rwanda seen taking Security Council seat

This post has already been read 4887 times!

By Robert Mugabe

The UN General Assembly is to vote Thursday to elect five new non-permanent members to the Security Council; Rwanda is widely expected to win the seat for Africa.

Rwanda is accused of interference in the Democratic Republic of Congo but that will not affect the vote.

Rwanda’s’ candidature is supported by the United States, and South Korea and African continent at large.

However, Rwanda must collect 129 votes, or 2/3 of the 193-nation General Assembly, to be elected. Possibilities on any surprises for Rwanda are almost none since Kigali has the backing of African Union and has no competitor.

The other five countries chosen will on January 1 begin a two-year term. They will replace Colombia, Germany, India, Portugal and South Africa.

The five other non-permanent members are Azerbaijan, Guatemala, Morocco, Pakistan and Togo. Their terms will be completed at the end of 2013. Only the five permanent members have veto-wielding power.

This post has already been read 4887 times!



  1. Pingback: DmC Devil May Cry 5 All Cutscenes / Cinematic - HD

  2. Pingback: Watch Movies when Travelling

  3. Pingback: Increase erection size pills

  4. Pingback: compare car insurance quotes

  5. Pingback: am best auto insurance ratings

  6. Pingback: Visit Link

  7. Pingback: car insurance

  8. Pingback: cheap auto insurance in va

  9. Pingback: auto cheap insurance online

  10. Pingback: butyryl akcheh allotriophagy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

Great Lakes Voice (GLV) is an independent news network that aims to provide Africa's Great Lakes Region with a source of uncensored news.

Great Lakes Voice is owned and registered as The Voice, Ltd. and has an office at Press House (No. 37, KG 17 Avenue, Kigali).

Copyright © 2015 Great Lakes Voice

To Top